The Wesley Graduate Medical Education department coordinates graduate, and undergraduate medical education activities at Wesley Healthcare facilities. All graduate and undergraduate medical education activities are sponsored by the University of Kansas School of Medicine – Wichita. Approximately 268 residents are training in the KU residency program in Wichita, and 115 of these residents receive their training at Wesley each month.

All residents are employed by the Wichita Center for Graduate Medical Education (WCGME), of which Wesley Healthcare is a member institution.

Residency at Wesley includes inpatient care, as well as at WesleyCare Clinics and Wesley Family Medicine Center.

Department leadership

Residency programs

Anesthesiology

  • Robert McKay, M.D., Chairman, UKSM-W Department of Anesthesiology
  • James Walker, M.D., Program Director, UKSM-W Department of Anesthesiology
  • Rhonda Franssen, Residency Office Coordinator, (316) 962-2245
    rhonda.franssen@wesleymc.com

Family medicine

  • Rick Kellerman, M.D., Chairman, UKSM-W Department of Family and Community Medicine
  • Gretchen Dickson, M.D., Program Director
  • Katie Kellerman, Residency Office Supervisor, (316) 962-3976
    katie.kellerman@wesleymc.com
  • Ashley Borniger, Residency Office Coordinator, (316) 962-3974
    ashley.borniger@wesleymc.com

Internal medicine

  • Jon Schrage, M.D., Chairman, UKSM-W Department of Internal Medicine
  • B.J. Salyers, M.D., Program Director
  • Janell Vulgamore, Residency Office Coordinator, (316) 962-2212
    janell.vulgamore@wesleymc.com

Med/Pediatrics

OBGYN

  • David Grainger, M.D., Chairman, UKSM-W Department of Ob/Gyn
  • Zarchary Kuhlmann, D.O., Program Director
  • Stacey Wright-Haviland, Senior Residency Coordinator, (316) 962-3182
    stacey.wright@wesleymc.com
  • Rachel Garner, Medical Student Coordinator, (316) 962-3181
    RGarner2@kumc.edu

Orthopedic surgery

Pediatrics

  • Brian Pate, M.D., Chairman, UKSM-W Department of Pediatrics
  • Robert Wittler, M.D., Program Director
  • Tara Shirley, Residency Coordinator, (316) 962-2658
    tara.shirley@wesleymc.com
  • Cindy Roth, Residency Office Coordinator, (316) 962-2253
    cindy.roth@wesleymc.com

Radiology

  • Charles McGuire, M.D., Chairman, UKSM-W Department of Radiology
  • Kamran Ali, M.D., Program Director
  • Heather Contreras, Residency Office Coordinator, (316) 962-2211
    heather.contreras@wesleymc.com

Surgery

  • Alex Ammar, M.D., Chairman, UKSM-W Department of Surgery
  • Michael Porter, M.D., Program Director
  • Rhonda Franssen, Residency Office Coordinator, (316) 962-2245
    rhonda.franssen@wesleymc.com

Medical School Rotations

Protocol for visiting medical students